MONYMUSK 1995 Villa Paradisetto

Traditional Rum – 62%, 70cl
Limited Edition of 508 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Aged for 24 years in the tropical climate of Jamaica, this version bears the name of the magnificent Villa Paradisetto, located on the peaks of Gênes, the headquarters for Maison Vellier between 1988 and 2019. With an ester content of 125-175 grams per hectolitre of pure alcohol, it is part of the Plummer style (EMB) category of rums produced by the Monymusk distillery. Long after the tasting, the idyllic fragrances of balsamic vinegar that rise to the surface of the aromatic palette create a superb link between the Clarendon parish and the Ligurie capital.

Colour: vibrant orangey copper.

Description

rich, unctuous. The exceptional first nose evokes beeswax fragranced with apricot and orange. Next, it reveals very nobly expressed notes of black tea. Vinous, it then moves closer to the world of old port (candied cherry, dark chocolate) and oloroso sherry (mint leaf, salted almond, candied lemon). Increasingly medicinal (paprika, cayenne pepper), with time it becomes mystical (incense, church candle, precious wood, suspended dust). Note that orange and apricot are present from start to finish.

lively yet creamy. The very lightly reduced and oxidative (brandied cherry) attack is both ethereal and powdery (cocoa). Gradually, lime blossom honey spreads through utterly sublime notes of toast. On the mid-palate, apricot jam, orange zest and mandarine head the charge, alongside vanilla pod. The end of the palate takes a spicy road (cardamom, saffron, coriander, turmeric).

long, silky. At the start of the finish, whole squares of bitter chocolate coat the taste buds. Slender, it is underscored by oily, salty notes of earth. At the very end of the palate and on the retro-nasal olfaction, bois bandé, nutmeg and nuts (chestnut, hazelnut, sweet chestnut) pay witness to its resplendent maturity. The empty glass reveals fragrances of blood orange, candy sugar and royal jelly.

Buy now

MONYMUSK 1995 Villa Paradisetto

Rhum Traditionnel – 62%, 70cl
Edition limitée à 508 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Vieillie vingt-quatre ans sous le climat tropical de la Jamaïque, cette version porte le nom de la magnifique Villa Paradisetto, située sur les hauteurs de Gênes, qui a été le siège social de la Maison Velier entre 1988 et 2019. Contenant un taux d’esters situé entre 125 et 175 grammes par hectolitre d’alcool pur, elle entre dans la catégorie Plummer style (« EMB »), des rhums élaborés par la distillerie Monymusk. Longtemps après la dégustation, des parfums paradisiaques de vinaigre balsamique qui remontent à la surface de la palette aromatique constituent un merveilleux trait d’union entre la paroisse de Clarendon et la capitale de la Ligurie.

Couleur : cuivre orangé soutenu.

Description

riche, onctueux. Exceptionnel, le premier nez évoque la cire d’abeille parfumée à l’abricot et à l’orange. Puis, il dévoile des notes de thé rouge d’une très grande noblesse d’expression. Vineux, il se rapproche ensuite de l’univers des vieux Portos (cerise confite, chocolat noir) et des xérès oloroso (feuille de menthe, amande salée, citron confit). De plus en plus médicinal (paprika, Cayenne), il devient avec le temps mystique (encens, cierge, bois précieux, poussière en suspension). Il est à souligner que les oranges et les abricots sont présents de bout en bout.

à la fois vive et onctueuse. Très légèrement réduite et oxydative (cerise à l’eau-de-vie), l’attaque en bouche est à la fois aérienne et poudrée (cacao). Progressivement, du miel de tilleul se répand sur des saveurs de pain grillé absolument sublimes. En milieu de bouche, de la confiture d’abricot, des zestes d’orange et de mandarine ainsi que des gousses de vanille occupent les premiers rangs. L’arrière-bouche emprunte la route des épices (cardamome, safran, coriandre, curcuma).

longue, soyeuse. En entame de finale, des carrés entiers de chocolat amer enrobent les papilles. Longiligne, elle est soutenue par des notes de terre à la fois huileuses et salines. En toute fin de bouche et en rétro-olfaction, du bois bandé, des noix de muscade et des fruits secs (marron, noisette, châtaigne) témoignent de sa resplendissante maturité. Le verre vide dévoile des parfums d’oranges sanguines, de sucre candi et de gelée royale.

Acheter