BALVENIE 1892 (The) Classic Oldest Selection

Speyside Single Malt – 43%, 75cl

In the early 1980s, four bottlings of The Balvenie were released on the market, presented in a typical Cognac bottled stamped with a red wax insignia in its centre: one with no age statement and a rose on the insignia; one 12 year old; one 18 year old and the Classic 1892 with no age statement. All by themselves, these editions marked their era and, in the eyes of enthusiasts, became leading references for Balvenie, with their perfect balance of sherry and peat.

Colour: coppery amber.

Description

round, soft, well-balanced. The first nose is an invitation to indulge. Full-bodied and generous, it develops notes of sweet shortcrust pastry, Mirabelle plum and plum tart, mixed with soft notes of toasted oak (vanilla, honey, beeswax, almond paste). Allowed to breathe, the fruit becomes more intense, clearly evo- king a cornucopia of autumnal aromas, with quince jelly, grape juice and apple purée. Citrus fruit (orange, lemon) and passion fruit bring vivacity and real freshness. Depth is brought by a small and intriguing empyreumatic note seconded by a note of wood or damp cellar. Sherry is magnificently present.

taut. An intense and furtive floral note immediately ap- pears, violet perhaps. It seems so, as immediately after the palate is coated in liquorice, zan liquorice sweets, charred oak and a very precise note of smoke. Passion fruit also makes a very brief appearance before making way for aromatic herbs (valerian, cat- nip) and harvest flavours. A light bitterness tinged with caramel and cinnamon moves through the palate, followed by oak and soft notes of drying malted barley.

mouth-watering. The finish is drawn out with empyreumatic notes of smoke and burnt rubber. Oak regains the upper hand and honey makes its mark. The spicy notes, including pepper, make a strong comeback. Such presence! An extraordinary Balvenie modelled on the period of its birth, the very early 1980s.

Buy now

BALVENIE 1892 (The) Classic Oldest Selection

Speyside Single Malt – 43%, 75cl

Le début des années 80 vit apparaître sur le marché quatre versions de The Balvenie présentées dans une bouteille de type cognaçaise, marquée d’un écusson de cire rouge en son centre : une version sans âge avec une rose sur l’écusson, un 12 ans, un 18 ans et le Classic 1892 sans mention d’âge. À elles quatre, ces éditions ont marqué leur époque et sont devenues aux yeux des amateurs des références absolues en matière de Balvenie : l’équi- libre parfait entre le sherry et la tourbe, ni plus ni moins.

Couleur : ambre cuivré.

UGS : 103 Catégories : , , , , ,

Description

rond, doux, équilibré. Le premier nez est une invitation à la gourmandise. Ample, généreux, il évolue sur des notes pâtissières de pâte sablée, de tarte aux mirabelles et aux prunes entremêlées de douces notes de chêne toasté (vanille, miel, cire d’abeille, pâte d’amande). A l’aération, le fruité se fait plus intense évoquant clai- rement une corne d’abondance aux senteurs automnales : gelée de coing, jus de raisins et pommes en compote. Des agrumes (orange, citron) et du fruit de la passion lui apportent de la vi- vacité et une réelle fraicheur. Une petite note empyreumatique intrigante secondée par une note de bois ou de chai humide lui confère de la profondeur. Magnifique présence du sherry.

tendue. Une note florale intense et furtive s’impose d’emblée, serait-ce de la violette ? Probablement car la bouche se tapisse immédiatement après de réglisse, de zan, de chêne brulé et d’une note fumée très précise. Le fruit de la passion fait éga- lement une très brève apparition avant de laisser le champ libre aux herbes aromatiques (valériane, herbe à chat) et aux parfums qu’exhale la période de la moisson. Une légère amertume teintée de caramel et de cannelle traverse le palais suivi de chêne et de douces notes d’orge maltée en cours de séchage.

salivante. Elle s’éternise sur les notes empyreumatiques de fumé et de caoutchouc brûlé. Le chêne reprend l’ascendant et le miel impose sa présence. Les épices, dont le poivre, font un retour en force. Quelle présence. Un Balvenie hors normes à l’image de la période qui l’a vu naitre, le tout début des années 80.

Acheter