ABERLOUR 17 ans First Fill Sherry Hogshead

Speyside Single Malt – 57.3%, 70cl
Single Cask #2499 – First Fill Sherry Hogshead
Limited Edition of 280 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

To obtain its extremely fruity distillate, Aberlour’s second distillation last 7.5 hours. The heart of the run (new make) is then collected over two hours at between 73% and 63% ABV before being put into casks. Maturation of this bottling in a first-fill sherry hogshead is a real rarity – and only one in 10,000 casks are accorded this privilege. Tastings of this version are therefore an opportunity not to be passed up and it is worth really taking the time to appreciate a palette of flavours full of emotion and promise. Slainte.

Colour: mahogany.

Description

rich, dense. 1st sequence: blood orange, candied apricot, red currant jam, marzipan, quince jelly, dark chocolate… 2nd sequence: Russian leather, nutmeg, spice bread, emery cloth, beeswax, cardamom, coriander… 3rd sequence: incense, pine resin, cough sweets, mango, persimmon and more candied orange…

deep, firm. After such a concentrated sequence of aromas, the attack on the palate takes the reins with ease. Lime blossom honey, dark chocolate, heady notes of Havana cigar, iris butter, cumin and candied apricot give the wonderfully fresh palette of flavours lots of grandeur. With a particularly delicate texture, the mid-palate invites us to bite into deliciously juicy wild peach. The end of the palate offers the taste buds fresh fig and date. Outstanding.

long, balanced. Leading on closely from the end of the palate, the start of the finish is characterized by notes of liquorice stick, honey and lime blossom. Sherry then releases a truly sublime note of rancio (blood orange, quince jelly). In an homage to fruit, the very end of the palate and the retro-nasal olfaction are then especially exotic (mango, guava, persimmon). The empty glass is camphoric, spicy (curry, ginger) and rich (slightly burnt apricot tart).

Buy now

ABERLOUR 17 ans First Fill Sherry Hogshead

Speyside Single Malt – 57.3%, 70cl
Single Cask #2499 – First Fill Sherry Hogshead
Edition limitée à 280 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Afin d’obtenir un distillat extrêmement fruité, la durée de la seconde distillation pratiquée chez Aberlour s’étend sur sept heures et demi. Le cœur de chauffe (new make) est ensuite récupéré pendant deux heures entre 73% et 63% avant d’être mis en fût. Le vieillissement de cette version, en sherry hogshead de premier remplissage, est extrêmement rare : seul 1 fût sur 10 000 ayant ce privilège. Ainsi, il ne faut pas bouder son plaisir et prendre tout son temps avant d’appréhender une palette gustative qui est déjà, en elle-même, source de promesses et d’émotions à venir. Slainte.

Couleur : acajou.

UGS : 22 Catégories : , , , , ,

Description

riche, dense. 1ère séquence : des oranges sanguines, des abricots confits, de la confiture de groseille, de la pâte d’amande, de la gelée de coing, du chocolat noir… 2ème séquence : du cuir de Russie, de la noix de muscade, du pain d’épices, de la toile Emeri, de la cire d’abeille, de la cardamome, du coriandre… 3ème séquence : de l’encens, de la résine de pin, des bonbons pour la toux, des mangues, des kakis et de nouveau des oranges confites…

profonde, ferme. Après une séquence aromatique aussi dense, l’attaque en bouche prend avec aisance le relais. Du miel de tilleul, du chocolat noir, des notes de Havane capiteux, de la concrète d’iris, du cumin et des abricots confits procurent beaucoup de noblesse à une palette gustative pleine de fraîcheur. Doté d’un toucher particulièrement délicat, le milieu de bouche nous invite à croquer à pleines dents dans des pêches de vigne juteuses à souhait. Puis, la fin de bouche dépose sur les papilles des dattes et des figues fraîches. Superbe.

longue, équilibrée. Intiment liée à la fin de bouche, l’entame de la finale est marquée par des notes de bâton de réglisse, de miel et de parfums de tilleul. Le vin de xérès libère un rancio absolument sublime (orange sanguine, gelée de coing). Dédiées aux fruits, la toute fin de bouche ainsi que la rétro-olfaction se révèlent à leur tour particulièrement exotiques (mangues, goyaves, kakis). Le verre vide est camphré, épicé (curry, gingembre) et gourmand (tarte à l’abricot légèrement brûlée).

Acheter